Interview: Wake Up, Dolly

Interview: Wake Up, Dolly

We managed to snag the talented singer and songwriter for Wake Up, Dolly, Kylle Reece for an interview! Wake Up, Dolly has a huge couple of months coming up as they release not only their debut single, “A Million Little Pieces”. That isn’t the end of it either! They have their first Full-Length Album releasing in September! Keep an eye out!

Kylle Reece has given us his time to do an interview on Wake Up, Dolly!

Enjoy Readers!

SD:What do you think is the most significant talent of a songwriter?
Kylle Reece: I think it really depends on the style of music.. The songwriter in ME wants to say that the lyrics are the most important because that’s where people usually connect and relate to whatever it is you’re trying to convey.. Lyrics can be really powerful, I think the best attribute to have as a songwriter is writing solid lyrics. Or at least lyrics people can relate to. There’s been multiple times where I’ve fallen in love with a band or an artist with a terrible voice or no musical talent whatsoever, but their lyrics got to me. I really feel like it’s all you need. For me I’d rather listen to something like that than an amazing voice with pointless lyrics.

 

SD: How did Wake Up, Dolly all come about? 
Kylle Reece: Oh dear.. haha. So, I’ve been in multiple bands in the past few years (Sky Highway, Dry Creek Manor, City Of Kings) and for whatever reason those bands didn’t end up working out. And in between each band I would take a couple months to go solo acoustic and just play alone with my material. It always seemed to work better that way, I’m a pretty stubborn guy and I can admit to being hard to work with sometimes when it comes to writing.. hahah. So, I was going solo and getting really serious about a year ago. I went into the studio to start recording my first ever full-length Album. After months of recording, the majority of the songs became full band songs where I would play all the instruments and it just kinda got to the point where I was like, “Well, you’re going to need a band to play these songs live anyway.. might as well give it one more shot.” And it helps, you know, after being in bands that fail epically over and over again because you know what to do and what not to do. Trial and error really played a big effect in WUD’s strong take off, and that’s only because I’ve failed so many times already.. But anyway, about 5 months ago I went on a little search and recruited the members I thought fit best and here we are!

 

SD: Tell us about Wake Up, Dolly’s Full-Length Album coming out in August. What excites you about the release the most?
Kylle Reece: Wow, all these heavy questions! So, like I said earlier this has been over a year long process. I went in and out of styles, lyrics changed, guitar parts changed, band members changed, this album has just been a monster for us, and for me especially.. But it’s finally almost done. haha. I had recorded about 20 tracks in the past year or so and basically in doing that I sort of found my style and what direction I wanted the band to go. The Album has been cut down to 11 tracks now (possibly 12) and it’s put together which much more continuity than it would’ve been if I hadn’t cut those 8 or 9 tracks. So, the album actually comes out in September and it’s entitled, “A Shallow View On What Counts”. The name is sort of an overlapping theme within the album, there’s a lot of songs about friends leaving you for new friends, or girls leaving you for new and improved versions of you, and a whole lot of feeling like you’re not good enough I guess. It’s cool, because I know a lot of people can relate and that’s a big part of everything I write. So, this album if anything for me is all about getting rid of any baggage I had before and starting fresh. It’s got a harder edge to it, still alternative/indie rock type stuff, but a lot of Taking Back Sunday and Brand New influence.

The thing I’m MOST excited to release is definitely our Single. Our single drops August 13th, 2011 and it’s called, “A Million Little Pieces” and a good friend of mine does guest vocals in the song. (Brent Walsh of I The Mighty [Equal Vision Records). SO LOOK OUT FOR THAT!

 

SD: Where did the name Wake Up, Dolly originate?
Kylle Reece: I’ll try to make this as short as possible… When I was a kid my mom brought me home a box of toys and from this box I chose these 2 dolls, a boy named bobby and a girl named dolly. I played with these things constantly day in and day out and my mom got worried that I wasn’t doing “normal” things and I think she said I was actually skipping meals to play with these things.. haha So, anyway one night when I was asleep I’m assuming my mom took the dolls and gave them away to some underprivileged down the street without telling me.. I cried for DAYS. I guess my mom had a nightmare about a week after I got over everything and in this dream she was standing outside my bedroom door but she couldn’t get in. Like the door was locked or something. And So, when she put her ear to the door to see if I was okay, she heard me screaming at my dolls to wake up because I had no friends I wanted them to be alive to play with me. She heard me say, “WAKE UP, DOLLY, WAKE UP!” over and over again. And that’s where the name came from!

 

SD: Out of all the shows you all have done which would you say is your most memorable?
Kylle Reece: Probably the show I played acoustically at the Danville theatre in Danville, CA. The vibe was great, it was a benefit concert for habitat for humanity so everyone was super sweet and loving. I had a blast and made tons of friends and sold tons of merch. It was awesome.

 

SD: What music, band, or even TV show has influenced you and the band?
Kylle Reece: Brand New, Taking Back Sunday, Ace Enders, Relient K, Just Surrender, I The Mighty, I could go on for hours… But that probably narrows it down a bit 🙂

 

There it is readers! Wake Up, Dolly! Make sure you follow them on their way to the top!

Special Thanks to, Kylle Recce for the interview and your time! 😀

 

SikDailyMags

 

About lbrimmage

Always looking for something to write about, take a picture or share. I love meeting new people, growing and sharing what I know to others that might not have seen things like the Grand Canyon or even Disney World. Love to give people a glimpse of what I've seen so they will have more of a motivation to go and see for themselves. From just wanting to draw a picture to writing reviews and enjoying life, as you already know my name is Lance. Artist, Writer, Networking, Marketing, and just a kid at heart working hard to put a smile on my mother's face. Get to know me. "Networking is king."

Posted on July 19, 2011, in Bands, Music, News and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

